STOP LOOKING BACK

BLESSINGS - ABRAHAM

Gen 12:1-2  Now the LORD had said unto Abram, Get thee out of thy country, and from thy kindred, and from thy father’s house, unto a land that I will shew thee:  And I will make of thee a great nation, and I will bless thee, and make thy name great; and thou shalt be a blessing: 

Gen 12:4  So Abram departed, as the LORD had spoken unto him; and Lot went with him: and Abram was seventy and five years old when he departed out of Haran

When I asked Abraham to step out into the unknown he did as I requested.  He stepped out in faith according to the word which I had spoken to him.  He never thought about the home he was leaving or what he was giving up. He kept his eyes on what I promised him.  For I promised that I would give him a new land and new promises. With this in mind, there was nothing left behind for him to hold onto, so he moved forward on My word.

In the same way, haven’t I promised you new things? I  assure you the new will be greater than what you left behind.  Then why my child, do you look behind you so often?  Why do you look at the things you had or the possibilities of what you could have had, instead of looking at the new blessings that I have for you?  Don’t you trust Me?

The new blessings I have for you will far exceed the old. The new promises that I have for you are greater than anything that you had in the past, greater than anything you can ever imagine. Oh, if you could just get that into your spirit you would sing praises unto My name.

However, until you put your eyes on Me and look ahead, I cannot show you the new promises that I have for you.   What would have happened if Abraham had tried to walk while looking behind him?  He would never have seen the new land that I promised him. He could never have walked in the great blessing that I had for him. 

In the same way, I call you to look ahead of you.  Take your eyes off the past and the things that have once been.  For once and all, put the past behind you. Turn loose everything.  If you don’t, you will continue to bump into the same problems over and over again, and never reach the promise land I have for you. 

I have so much more ahead for you.  I have greater blessings and they will engulf the old. The new will be so large and so magnificent that the small things you let go will seem so insignificant. 

So, today stop looking back, trust Me my child, and look ahead for many good things await.

Romans 4:18 -21 Who against hope believed in hope, that he might become the father of many nations, according to that which was spoken, So shall thy seed be. And being not weak in faith, he considered not his own body now dead, when he was about a hundred years old, neither yet the deadness of Sara’s womb: He staggered not at the promise of God through unbelief; but was strong in faith, giving glory to God; And being fully persuaded that, what he had promised, he was able also to perform

 SUBSCRIBE TO DAILY WORDS OF ENCOURAGEMENT

About Shearon Hurst

I've been in the ministry for over 20 years. My writing ministry has been blessing people on the internet for over 10 years with words of encouragement which I send out to strengthen and comfort those in their walk with the Lord. I can easily speak on the subject of letting go, let God and get on with your life so you can move on a higher level. Having dealt with abuse, abandonment, rejection, and disappointment; I overcame the odds against me and pressed my way forward as the Spirit of the Lord led me into a more glorious path. I have a passion for the heart of women, and can minister to the wounded and broken hearted. I can speak to married women having been there and done that... to the single again women being there. My plethora of life experiences gives value to my desire to share and help others. My love for the Lord is what drives me to take a leap of faith and lean on God’s infinite wisdom, because I know with Christ nothing is impossible.
This entry was posted in Inspirational Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

